What’s my Religion?

I was born into a Buddhist family, and since birth I have been following and gulping down what my spiritual leaders have been teaching.

I was put into a factory line with a pre-decided flow on my religious beliefs. I have been taught my mantras, a way of life and everything nice.

“Nice”; that’s the keyword here. What is nice? What is good or bad? A beef steak might be a normal dish for someone while a hindu family might rebuke at it. So is it good or is it bad? My muslim friend will not have pork but its all good meat for me!

So, there’s nothing good or bad, its just how the society and people you care about perceive it which drives your judgement about things.

Its not upto you to be born into a family with the religion or social status of your liking. However, once born, the family’s ideologies become your ideologies. Throughout your childhood you have been fed with the beliefs of the religion and thought process that your family follows. You are never given a choice!

Choice! The freedom to choose with an open mind. That’s what you need now that you can think for yourself.

I am a Buddhist officially. But in reality, I identify myself as an agnostic person. Honestly, there are too many religions and too many teachings which are age old and designed according to those times. And I only find religion to be something that divides people much more than it unites. If every religion teaches the same idea of love and kindness, why do I need to follow one? I can practice it without identifying myself as part of one particular sect. Every religion has some good things about it. I find yoga to be alarmingly beautiful and soothing. I love the freedom of food which Christianity and Buddhism allow. Muslim brotherhood is something worth admiring! I’m identifying myself as part of all such sects and a seeker of truth. I identify myself as an agnostic.

Time that you ponder upon this idea too because, until now if you didn’t know me personally, you might have been of the impression that I was born a Buddhist. Whereas in reality, I am from a Hindu family which led to my Hindu upbringing.

Peace!